May 09, 2019

Bubbly and Experienced Buddy/Manny for B15 Ref DHI0705Y

£14.00 hourly
  • My Big Buddy
  • Mitcham, UK
Part time Manny

Job Description

Start date: asap
Location: Mitcham CR4
Day/Hours: Initially 3 hours every Saturday, either 10am – 1pm, 11am – 2pm or 12pm – 3pm. 
Children: One boy of 15
Driver necessary? no
General notes: Buddy need to keep company with a 15 year old bubbly and bright young man. He is a talented artist, and likes making digital art, and enjoys swimming and paddle boats. He also enjoys playing Uno and Hungry Hippos.

Thomas has a diagnosis of global developmental delay, which means he functions several years younger than his chronological age. He goes to a special needs school in Mitcham. He is very intelligent, and likes to talk about his interests, however can at times be quite anxious and often struggles to go out and engage in activities in the community. The boy needs a buddy who can help him get more active, and go outside and spend time doing activities that he likes. He spends a huge amount of time on his computer, so the ideal buddy would be able to eventually get him out of the house so that he can spend time in different environments.

Thomas needs his buddy to speak clearly and be patient with him. He likes to be spoken to like an adult, but needs plain and simple language. Thomas needs some time to get used to the buddy before he can trust to go outdoors with them, so a buddy who could engage with him in computer games and build a relationship at home first would be helpful.

A buddy with experience in working with young people with learning difficulties would be preferred. £14ph


Apply Now