May 23, 2023

[J4162] BARNES SW13: Trained, Daily Nanny (4.5 days/week) B3 years & G5 months

  • Nannies of St James
  • Barnes, London, UK
Full time Nanny

Job Description

BARNES SW13: late spring/early summer start (driver helpful) ££££

Late spring/early summer start in BARNES SW13: trained, Daily Nanny (4.5 days/week) for B3 years & G5 months - driver preferred

We have a lovely appointment for clients in Barnes, and are recruiting for a Daily Nanny to support them with their 2 children B3 years and baby G (currently 5 months).  This is a late spring/early summer start.  The role will be initially shared care, working 40-45 hours/week and will evolve to sole charge once mum has stopped breastfeeding over the beginning of summer. We are looking for a loving and proactive nanny with a warm and nurturing personality.

The daily working hours will be 08.00 - 18.00 Monday to Thursday with a half day on a Friday (finishing around lunchtime).   A trained Nanny is preferred and they do love the Norland ethos.

Our professional clients are both in busy careers and work from home, but this is a sole charge role.  Dad works full time and Mum runs her own business so has flexible hours, and is hoping to return back to work for 3 days/week from late May.  They are looking for a long-term nanny who has a good understanding of how to collaborate and communicate effectively in support of their children’s development and routine, a nanny who is calm, open, honest and empathetic would be the ideal fit for this position. The nanny should be experienced with both the toddler and baby age groups and very experienced with early years development.  Someone who loves babies, has previous experience with this age group, and who can encourage her development going forward.  It is important that the nanny loves to cook and can be imaginative with food, batch cooking and encouraging new age-appropriate foods and dishes (eg: Annabel Karmel) and the little lad loves to be included! 

The little girl is currently being weaned at the moment and Mum will require some help with daily tasks required with a small baby, including sterilising, changing, implementing routines, weaning and activities when old enough. They are currently following a Norland sleeping routine for her and would like to establish a good sleeping routine as she grows. 

The boy is at nursery 3 full days a week, in nearby Putney, but when he is not at nursery it is vitally important the new Nanny is outdoorsy, fit & active and happy to do sporting activities with him, especially swimming (he has been swimming since he was a tiny baby and loves to swim) and our clients would like the nanny to go swimming with him. he is also learning French.  The family's parenting style is to get down to the children's level, speak to them in a kind and gentle manner with no raised voices, and explain things. Their desire is for the nanny to be super-proactive, and someone who is happy to be child-led and will involve their children in fun activities (eg: baking, arts & crafts), and also someone who is very active & outdoorsy.  Things that are important to the family:


= Knowledge of age appropriate developmental activities, exploration of creativity and messy play.


= Will discipline but in a kind and calm manner by explaining to the child and treating them as an equal.

= Trust and good communication, tidy and respectful.

= Open, honest and friendly, positive and proactive with love and kindness for children.

= Structure for sleeping and routine for play and quiet time.

= Within the local area, things to do nearby: Monkey Music, Messy Play, Little Gym, Petite Performers (Ballet), Swimming, The Wetland Centre, Science Museum, Wisley Gardens, Chiswick House, Ham House, Kew Gardens.

Hours will be 08.00 - 18.00 Monday to Thursday with a half day on a Friday (finishing around lunchtime).  And as dad often travels away, it would be truly wonderful if the nanny would be happy to do weekend proxy care every 6-8 weeks or so, so the parents get to have some quality time together.

And the family home is only a short 15 minute walk from Barnes station, and close to  Barnes Common. Barnes – South Western Railway. Trains to London Waterloo, Wimbledon. Buses – towards Oxford Street, Richmond and Putney

A driver would be super-helpful and is preferred, but isn't a total deal-breaker for the right nanny, though please note, for nannies with their own cars, it is resident permit parking only.

Interviews are now taking place for a late spring/early summer start and a jolly good remuneration package is available. 

Apply Now