Jan 07, 2022

Full Time Spanish Speaking Nanny Sought for Family near Thatcham, West Berkshire

  • Polo & Tweed
  • Berkshire, UK

Job Description

  A lovely family living in Midgham, near Thatcham, West Berkshire, RG7 are looking for a fluent Spanish speaking Nanny/Tutor who is child friendly to join their family.   Due to the location you must drive. Package Offered £25,000 - £35,000 gross per year  Full contract/employed by the family. 20 days holiday plus 8 days bank holiday. Option to live in (private annexe accommodation) if required Family Background The family are known extremely well by the agency.  The father is a teacher, and the mother is an entrepreneur and works from home, or takes trips into London.  They have a young boy who is almost 7, and he is active and bright. They have had a nanny for 3 years, and their current nanny has decided to move to a new career outside of nannying. The live in a 3 bedroom house in West Berkshire (20 mins to Newbury and 20 mins to Reading, 50 mins to London), in a beautiful part of the world.  It is a semi-remote location, with easy access to the shops, and community, but the property feels like it is in a very private part of the world.  It is accessed only by car.  The father works full time and is busy during term time, and the mother works full time. The son is currently at school five days a week.  They have three small dogs.  They have a full time housekeeper/cook who does all the housework. Duties You will be a nanny, focused around all duties for the boy – playing with his toys, read stories and take him outside to play. He loves nature and playing outside - and has a wonderful imagination.  As the father is a teacher, he is often around during the holidays, but you would have sole charge and mixed care charge. The Spanish development of the child is important, the son is fluent Spanish, and can read, write and speak it – but he needs confidence and development with this.  Every evening you will do his English homework with him and then develop Spanish homework so you can help develop his skills in this area.  If you have a background of teaching this is a bonus. You will be in charge of all his uniform, room and school organisation, liaising with the mum and dad to ensure that everything is organized.  You should be flexible and adaptive and always willing to adjust to family life. During the term time, you’ll pick him up from school and then bring him to afterschool activities (by car) so you should be a good driver and comfortable to drive him to these clubs.  Then you’ll bring him home and do his homework and help with his dinner (the housekeeper prepares the dinner).  During school holidays you will be flexible to arrange fun activities and liaise with other nannies and book fun things for you and the little boy to do. Location The family live in the small village of Midgham, between Reading/Newbury (RG7).  You can either live out and commute each day (you'll need your own car) or you can live in, with a one-bedroom private annexe accommodation provided.  If you live in, the package will be adjusted, and a car can also be provided if you do not have your own. Days/Hours 5 days a week.  Monday- Friday.  With flexibility for babysitting when agreed in advance. During term time you'll work 3:00 - 6:30pm (unless the little boy is poorly and at home and then you'll work the full day) During holiday time you'll work 9am – 6:30pm If you work any additional hours (when agreed in advance) this would be covered as overtime or time off in lieu. Languages You must speak a good level of English and fluent Spanish (spoken, written and reading) as the little boy is learning both languages.  The parents do not speak Spanish so your English must be good enough to communicate. Special Skills You must speak, read and write fluent Spanish. Interview/Start date The family are interviewing now for the right candidate to start ASAP.  We are recruiting safely within the COVID-19 regulations.

Apply Now