Polo and Tweed

Polo & Tweed provide a specialist service in domestic staff recruitment and domestic staff training. Based in Mayfair, London, we work with a global network of clients in private homes, hotels, restaurants, chalets and yachts.  We approach our services from a unique and fresh perspective. It’s not the bottom line that drives us, but the desire to satisfy and provide the very best service we can to our clients.

It might sound a bit cliché, but we would much prefer to keep a happy client for life rather than just work with brand new clients each time.  Our ethos is what drives us, and makes Polo & Tweed one of the (in our opinion) friendliest and eager to please agencies.  Why not try us out and see for yourself?  We aim to reply to email/calls within 24 hours, and when you call us you won’t get through to an annoying call centre or computerised systems. Our receptionists are highly briefed and excel in customer care and interaction.  We love talking to both clients and candidates and believe that both are as equally important.

Jul 10, 2019
A warm and down to earth family based near Chiswick, W3, London are looking for a professional housekeeper to join their family staff.   Package Offered £14 – 18 gross per hour depending on experience Tuesday, Wednesday and Friday, and either a Saturday or Sunday.  3-4 hours each day.  Total of 16 hours per week Family Background A family of four with two children, one baby and one toddler.  They live in a beautiful home near Chiswick.  The family are very hands on and involved in their children and routine each week, and the children have a nanny who helps care for the children when the parents are busy.  The property is four bedrooms, with three reception rooms, a dining room, kitchen and converted loft.  They do not have any pets.  The mum doesn't work, but does have her hands full with the children and appointments and the father works full time.  They are a British family, but the father speaks German.  They also have a cleaner who comes two days a week on Monday and Thursday.   Duties Your duties will be to provide the highest level of housekeeping for the family home, from all cleaning, vacuuming, dusting, tidying and laundry.  The family want someone who is comfortable around children, is proactive, efficient and hands on, with a can-do attitude. You should have strong initiative, and be happy to help with some light meal prep.  The family have the food/meal delivered each week, so the cooking is simple and easy to do.  You should be good at looking after the property, helping deal with tradespeople or deliveries, and if you notice something needs repair, arranging for a handyman to come and fix etc.  The cleaner who comes twice a week does the deep cleaning, but you should be happy to support and maintain this in the hours you work.     You should be happy to use eco-friendly and baby friendly products in the household.  You will not need to do any caring of the children as they have a nanny, but you should be happy to be around children.  You'll be in charge of re-stocking products for the household, lightbulbs, garbage bags etc   Location The family live near Chiswick, W3, London.  This is a live out role, so you should be able to easily commute and ideally within an easy commute time.   Days/Hours Tuesday, Wednesday and Friday, and either a Saturday or Sunday.  3-4 hours each day.  Total of 16 hours per week.  Ideally the family would want you to come between 3-7pm, but they are flexible on this.   Languages You must speak a good level of English.   Special Skills You do not need to drive.  You must have experience working in households with babies/children, and happy to use eco-products.   Interview/Start date ASAP
Polo and Tweed London, UK Part time
Jul 02, 2019
£10.00 - £14.00 hourly
A down to earth family living in near Newbury, West Berkshire, RG7 are looking for a housekeeper/cook - this is a live in OR live out role.   You must hold an automatic driving licence (a car can be provided if you do not have one and you live in). Package Offered £10 -14 gross per hour If you live in - Private studio apartment with TV, Wifi, kitchen, bathroom, private entrance, all bills covered.  Open to couples/pets An automatic car will be provided if you do not have your own car, all insurance and petrol covered.  You can also use this car on your days off, but if driving long distances you might be asked to contribute towards some petrol. Full contract/employed by the family. 20 days holiday plus 8 days bank holiday pro-rata. Family Background The family are known extremely well by the agency.  The father is a teacher, and the mother is an entrepreneur and works from home, or takes trips into London.  They have a young boy who is almost 4 years old, active and bright. They have had a nanny for 4 years. The live in a 3 bedroom house (with seperate annex accommodation) in West Berkshire (20 mins to Newbury and 20 mins to Reading, 50 mins to London), in a beautiful part of the world.  It is a semi-remote location, with easy access to the shops, and community, but the property feels like it is in a very private part of the world.  It is accessed only by car.  The father works full time and is busy during term time, and the mother works full time. The son is currently at nursery 4 days a week, and in September he will be attending full time school.  They have two small dogs (fully house trained) who love attention and walks. Duties Your duties will be split between housekeeping and cooking duties.  You should be also child friendly and happy to help with the little boy if the parents need some extra help when he is home from holidays. Your focus will be on the housekeeping, cooking and dog walking when the boy is at nursery/school.  You should have an eye for detail, be happy to undertake hoovering, dusting, mopping, laundry, ironing, changing the beds, cleaning the kitchen and two bathrooms.  You should be happy to run errands, go to the shops and assist the family in daily duties as and when required. It is not a large house, but the family do require things to be clean, tidy and well organised, so as long as you stay on top of the duties, and ensure that the house is clean and tidy, then you can manage your time as you see fit.  Currently the two big cleaning days are Monday and Thursday with tidying and light house management in between.  You may need to assist with some school runs in the mornings.  You should be a confident cook and happy to cook varied, and healthy food for the family. During the holidays, the little boy is at home and you may be asked to do some activities with him alongside your normal duties.   Location/Accommodation The family live in the small village between Reading/Newbury (RG7).  This is either a live in OR live out role.  Either way you should be able to drive (either have your own car) or an automatic car will be provided.  If you live in, the family have a private separate entrance studio apartment (separate to the main house), which you will be living within, this has a double bed, TV, Wifi, kitchen and en suite.     Days/Hours 5 days a week.  Monday- Friday.  With flexibility for babysitting when agreed in advance. Monday - 8am - 3pm Tuesday - 8am - 3pm Wednesday - 8am - 3pm Thursday - 8am - 3pm Friday - 8am - 3pm 35 hours a week Languages You must speak a good level of English. Special Skills You must either have your own car, or have an automatic driving licence for a car to be provided. Interview/Start date ASAP
Polo and Tweed Newbury, UK Full time
Jun 24, 2019
£52,550 - £77,950 yearly
A family based in Belgravia, London SW1 is looking for a new, full-time rota nanny to support the family.  This is a 24/7 rota position, one week on, and one week off.  You must be dog friendly to apply for this role.   Package Offered £52,524 - £77,948 gross per year 20 days plus 8 days bank holiday Pension Fully Employed   Family Background A family based in Belgravia, London SW1, are looking for a new, long-term rota nanny. A mother, father and a 2 year old little boy. They currently have two nannies who work a 24/7 one week on, one week off rota and have been with the family since the little boy was born. They are very sad that one of the nannies is leaving due to a change in her personal circumstances and are looking for a nanny to replace her. You will join the family’s team of staff which includes another nanny, housekeeper and chef. A busy household who often entertain guests and family. Their housekeeper has a small dog who lives with her but is in the house during the day so you must be comfortable around dogs.    Duties Your main focus will be looking after the little boy and his development Being organised and supporting the family’s daily schedule Keeping the child’s room tidy and organised Organising fun and playful activities to help stimulate and help him grow Play dates and developing their experiences, with new activities, learning and books. Working with the other rota nanny and ensuring that all information is handed over to them at the end of the week.  Travelling with the family when required  All nursery duties   Location/Accommodation This is a live-in position for the week you are working, accommodation is provided in the family home is based in Belgravia, SW1. You will live out the week you are not working.    Days/Hours You will be working 24/7, one week on, one week off, as a rota position.   Languages You must speak a good level of English. Russian would be a bonus for this position though not essential.   Special Skills You must have professional nanny experience, be kind and professional, and able to work well in a team.  You must be committed to a long-term role and happy to do a 24/7 rota position, including traveling with the family when required.   Interview/Start date ASAP
Polo and Tweed London, UK Rota